## INDEPENDENT REVIEW PANEL

#### In the matter of:

- 1. Canakiah Associates Co. Ltd
- 2. Kisten Enterprise Co. Ltd

(Applicants)

v/s

# Ministry of Education & Human Resources, Tertiary Education & Scientific Research

(Respondent)

(Cause Nos. 02/15/IRP, 03/15/IRP)

### **Decision**

Both cases were called at the hearing held on Monday 16 February 2015, the parties were represented as follows:

#### For the Public Body

Mr R. Joomun – Manager Procurement & Supply, Ministry of Education & HR, TE & SR

Mr M. Varaden – DPS, Ministry of Education & HR, TE & SR

Mrs V. Appadoo – Ag. DPS, Ministry of Education & HR, TE & SR

Mrs K. Gunesh-Balaghee – Assistant Solicitor General

Ms P. Puncho - State Counsel

Ms N. Pem – Temporary State Counsel

Ms Hajee Abdoula Mamode Ally – Temporary State Counsel

#### For Canakiah Associates Co. Ltd

Mr R. Canakiah - Director, Canakiah Associates Co. Ltd

Mr N. Seenuth – Counsel

#### Independent Review Panel – Decision No. 07/15

#### For Kisten Enterprise Co. Ltd

Mr A. Kisten - Director, Kisten Enterprise Co. Ltd

Mr A. Domingue, Senior Counsel

Mr Y. Caunhye – Counsel

Mr I. Nathire - Counsel

#### For Safety Construction Co. Ltd

Mr A. Kowlessur - Director, Safety Construction Co. Ltd

Mr M. Gobin – Counsel

Mr A. Goonjar - Personnel Officer, Safety Construction Co. Ltd

At the opening of the meeting, the Chairperson informed the parties that the Panel has been communicated with a letter dated 09 February 2015 whereby the procurement proceedings in respect of this contract have been suspended.

Mrs K. Gunesh-Balaghee informed the Panel that the bid awarded to Safety Construction Co. Ltd had been cancelled and that the Public Body is proceeding with a re-evaluation exercise in the course of which the bids of the aggrieved parties will be reconsidered. The suspension of the award is maintained and all bidders will be notified of the successful bidder in accordance with the provision of the Act. The aggrieved bidders had no objection to the stand of the Public Body. The Independent Review Panel recommends accordingly.

# (Said Toorbuth) Chairperson

(Siv Potayya) *Member* 

(Jacques C. Nauvel)

Member

Dated 25 February 2015